Posted in Book Recommendation, Book Related

Book Recommendation for Fans of You’ve Got Mail

Hello, fellow bookworms. As you have read from the title of my post, I am here to recommend you some books, but not just any books. These are books that would sate your movie hangover if you have marathoned You’ve Got Mail a million times.

If you clicked this blog post and don’t know what movie I am talking about, it’s the 1998 films starring Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan. But if you still don’t know, and haven’t watched it yet, you have to watch it, like right now!

You’ve Got Mail is one of my all-time favorite RomCom movies. Not only that, but it also enlightens me as to what type of romance I want to consume in terms of books. After rewatching the movie tons of time, I suddenly have the urge to read something with a similar plot to sate my movie hangover.

As a result, I scoured the internet for book recommendations with the same plot or trope. Let me tell you, some of those books turn out as a flop. So my book recommendations today are all the books that I have read. I will let you know what aspect of the story reminds me of You’ve Got Mail in the book, and how much I enjoyed them.

In addition to that, I also added a couple of recommendations on the last part of this blog dedicated to those who simply love the mysterious pen pal trope even if they are not similar to You’ve Got Mail.

So without further ado, let’s get into the recommendations.

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Pros: Out of all the books that have been recommended to me that have similar vibes with You’ve Got Mail, this is the story that I enjoyed the most. The thing about the mysterious pen pal trope in this story is you don’t know who her pen pal is. It was a mystery until the end, which is quite similar to the movie where it ends when Meg Ryan discovers who her pen pal is. Also, waffles. You need to read the book to find out.😉

Cons: The writing style might put you off, but if you can get past that, you would love this book. This is not a fluffy romance. The story has family dramas (lots of it), and high school dramas & bullying. So be ready.

Check out my full review if you want to know more of my thoughts.

Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

Pros: If you are looking for a story that is straight up the retelling of You’ve Got Mail, this is the book for you. The business rivalry was present in the story, including their ploy to ruin each other’s reputation. Of course, the mysterious pen pal trope, and the fact that one of them knew who’s who before the other.

Cons: Even if it was very similar to You’ve Got Mail, I cannot call it a favorite. A lot, and I say A LOT of things are going on at the same time in the story. Family dramas (teens & adults alike), school dramas, love problems, and many many more.😬 It just became too much for me that I lost interest in the story by the end of it.

Check out my full review if you want to know more of my thoughts.

Geekerlla by Ashley Poston

Pros: Although this story does not revolve around competitive business, the characters still have a hate-to-love relationship like You’ve Got Mail. It is a modern-day retelling of Cinderella with a touch of fandom culture, and the mysterious pen pal trope.

Cons: The ending is quite unsatisfying after everything the main character has been through. Other than that, you’re good to go!

Check out my full review if you want to know more of my thoughts.

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Pros: Hate-to-love romance, and the mysterious pen pal trope. I like the main characters and the settings of the story. It was a perfect summer read.

Cons: DO NOT READ THE SYNOPSIS. I repeat, DO NOT READ THE SYNOPSIS. It will spoil the whole story for you! Also, I don’t like the drama after one of them discovers the other’s identity. Like, why?

Check out my full review if you want to know more of my thoughts. P.S. DON’T READ THE SYNOPSIS ON MY REVIEW.😅

What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter

Pros: The mysterious pen pal trope where the main characters are book bloggers or book influencers (or something like that). If you’ve seen You’ve Got Mail, their business is a book store. Also, one of the main characters knows the real identity of the other.

Cons: I don’t like the female main character, and the story was quite frustrating. But I still recommend it since my opinion might differ from yours, so if I dislike it that doesn’t mean that you would dislike it, too.

Check out my full review if you want to know more of my thoughts.

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

Pros: Now this is quite a stretch, but the main character reminds me of Meg Ryan’s character since she also has a boyfriend/fiancé. Plus, there is a pen pal trope with the not so mysterious main character, so…

Okay, I just love this book, alright.😢

Cons: Nothing like You’ve Got Mail?🤣

Check out my full review if you want to know more of my thoughts.


The following book recommendations are not necessarily similar to You’ve Got Mail, but they all have the mysterious pen pal or just a pen pal trope which I think you guys might enjoy.

This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

Follows a girl who sent an email to the wrong person, but they ended up striking a conversation and being friends without knowing anything about each other.

This is an oldies but goodies, so highly recommend it.

(I don’t have a review for this since I read it when it came out on 2013.)

The Flatshare by Beth O’Lear

Now, this is a different take on the mysterious pen pal trope. Two individual who communicates through post-it note and shares the same flat. They have never seen each other, so it falls in the mysterious pen pal trope.

Just a trigger warning for a toxic relationship, because the ex-boyfriend of the female main character is so toxic.

Check out my full review if you want to know more of my thoughts.

This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone

A sapphic futuristic romance. This is not necessarily a mysterious pen pal trope, but there is a pen pal trope. The letters are told in interesting ways that people might enjoy. I just wanted to include this just in case it piques your interest.

Check out my full review if you want to know more of my thoughts.

That is all for my recommendations for today. I still have a huge list of books to read before I recommend it to you guys, so expect a part 2 of this recommendation.

Also, if you have any book recommendations with the mysterious pen pal trope or something similar to You’ve Got Mail, do let me know.

Until next time!

Author:

A reader who becomes a villain, a queen, a princess, a heroine, and a warrior depends on the story that she reads. A dreamer who wishes to dwell in the world that she visited through the pages of her book. A frustrated blogger who wishes to put into words the frustration, boredom, and excitement that she felt throughout her many journeys outside the real world.

Leave a comment