Posted in Book Related, Uncategorized

Recent Reads (June 08-14, 2020)

I was hoping against all hope that I can read and finish a lot of books this week because of our country’s Independence Day fell on a Friday, which means a long weekend for me. But sleep is always calling me, considering how the weather is both gloomy and cold.

Even so, I managed to finish two books, though one is less than 200 pages. I think audiobook has become my best friend once again, as it is my only means of getting through books lately.

I’ll keep this intro short. So let’s get into the books.

 


Currently Reading 📖

The Well of Ascension

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

↠I’ll be honest, I have not picked this book up ever since I started it. So I am still about 5% into this book. I feel like I am just not in the mood or in the right mindset to devour this story. And the first book did not do much for me to anticipate reading the next installment. But hopefully, I can finish it this month. I will make this as my go-to audiobook when I need it instead of looking for a different audiobook at my disposal.

 

 

45045129

Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

↠I am more than 50% of this book but I am not loving it as much. I think I dived into this book expecting a light cheesy reads and it was more than that. In a way it was good, the story is more complex. There are a lot of family issues, self-discovery, and of course some quirky banter and flirtation between the characters. But I think I am just not up for the super nerdy and GPA focused character at the moment. But I am hoping to finish this book today or tomorrow.

 

 


Read Books 📚

10210._sy475_

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Rating: 🌕🌕🌕🌘🌑

↠I like this book though I feel like the story drags a little because it’s too long. I like how the author presented the character at a young age and we get to see her grow and gain her philosophies in life. But I am not so sure about the romance. I did not like both of the love interests and I don’t get the point of choosing the lesser evil of the two (if that is the lesser evil). I just think that Jane should be better off by herself instead of ending up with one of them. But of course, that is asking too much.

 

240691._sy475_

The Murder of My Aunt by Richard Hull

Rating: 🌕🌕🌕🌑🌑

↠This is a short story following Edward, who is planning on murdering his aunt. The story was fun and entertaining. The ending is hilarious and unexpected at the same time. Though if you are looking for dark mystery murder, this is not it. The story felt mediocre but it was quite complex in a way, though not very. I recommend this if you are looking for a fast and entertaining read.

 


That is all for the books that have occupied my life in the past week. Hopefully, I can read more this week.

I hope you guys have a good reading week ahead of you and stay safe always.

Until next time!

Maria❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

A reader who becomes a villain, a queen, a princess, a heroine, and a warrior depends on the story that she reads. A dreamer who wishes to dwell in the world that she visited through the pages of her book. A frustrated blogger who wishes to put into words the frustration, boredom, and excitement that she felt throughout her many journeys outside the real world.

One thought on “Recent Reads (June 08-14, 2020)

Leave a comment