Posted in Book Review

The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

480204

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Published: September 23, 1909

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Format: audiobook & e-Book

Pages: 360

 

 


“He had a heart that could have held the empire of the world; and, in the end, he had to content himself with a cellar.”

SYNOPSIS:

First published in French as a serial in 1909, The Phantom of the Opera is a riveting story that revolves around the young, Swedish Christine Daaé. Her father, a famous musician, dies, and she is raised in the Paris Opera House with his dying promise of a protective angel of music to guide her. After a time at the opera house, she begins hearing a voice, who eventually teaches her how to sing beautifully. All goes well until Christine’s childhood friend Raoul comes to visit his parents, who are patrons of the opera, and he sees Christine when she begins successfully singing on the stage. The voice, who is the deformed, murderous ‘ghost’ of the opera house named Erik, however, grows violent in his terrible jealousy, until Christine suddenly disappears. The phantom is in love, but it can only spell disaster.

Leroux’s work, with characters ranging from the spoiled prima donna Carlotta to the mysterious Persian from Erik’s past, has been immortalized by memorable adaptations. Despite this, it remains a remarkable piece of Gothic horror literature in and of itself, deeper and darker than any version that follows.

 

 

Continue reading “The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux”

Posted in Book Review

S. by J.J. Abrams & Doug Dorst

17860739

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Published: October 29, 2013

Publisher: Mulholland Books

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 456

 

 


“… we create stories to help us shape a chaotic world, to navigate inequities of power, to accept our lack of control over nature, over others, over ourselves.”

SYNOPSIS:

One book. Two readers. A world of mystery, menace, and desire…

A young woman picks up a book left behind by a stranger. Inside it are his margin notes, which reveal a reader entranced by the story and by its mysterious author. She responds with notes of her own, leaving the book for the stranger, and so begins an unlikely conversation that plunges them both into the unknown.

The Book: Ship of Theseus, the final novel by a prolific but enigmatic writer named V. M. Straka, in which a man with no past is shanghaied onto a strange ship with a monstrous crew and launched on a disorienting and perilous journey.

The Writer: Straka, the incendiary and secretive subject of one of the world’s greatest mysteries, a revolutionary about whom the world knows nothing apart from the words he wrote and the rumors that swirl around him.

The Readers: Jennifer and Eric, a college senior and a disgraced grad student, both facing crucial decisions about who they are, who they might become, and how much they’re willing to trust another person with their passions, hurts, and fears.

 

 

Continue reading “S. by J.J. Abrams & Doug Dorst”

Posted in Book Review

What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter

51932743._sy475_

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌑🌑

Published: April 07, 2020

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Format: e-Book

Pages: 416

 

 


“And I can’t help but think it’s funny, the way you can be literally so close to someone, but somehow closer with words and social media accounts and pixels in between.”

SYNOPSIS:

Can a love triangle have only two people in it? Online, it can…but in the real world, it’s more complicated. In this debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson, Marisa Kanter hilariously and poignantly explores what happens when internet friends turn into IRL crushes.

Is it still a love triangle if there are only two people in it?

There are a million things that Halle Levitt likes about her online best friend, Nash.

He’s an incredibly talented graphic novelist. He loves books almost as much as she does. And she never has to deal with the awkwardness of seeing him in real life. They can talk about anything…

Except who she really is.

Because online, Halle isn’t Halle—she’s Kels, the enigmatically cool creator of One True Pastry, a YA book blog that pairs epic custom cupcakes with covers and reviews. Kels has everything Halle doesn’t: friends, a growing platform, tons of confidence, and Nash.

That is, until Halle arrives to spend senior year in Gramps’s small town and finds herself face-to-face with real, human, not-behind-a-screen Nash. Nash, who is somehow everywhere she goes—in her classes, at the bakery, even at synagogue.

Nash who has no idea she’s actually Kels.

If Halle tells him who she is, it will ruin the non-awkward magic of their digital friendship. Not telling him though, means it can never be anything more. Because while she starts to fall for Nash as Halle…he’s in love with Kels.

 

 

Continue reading “What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter”

Posted in Book Review

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

89717._sy475_

RATING: 🌕🌕🌑🌑🌑

Published: November 28, 2006 (First published Oct. 16, 1959)

Publisher: Penguin Classics

Format: e-Book/audiobook

Pages: 182

 

 


“People… are always so anxious to get things out into the open where they can put a name to them, even a meaningless name, so long as it has something of a scientific ring.”

SYNOPSIS:

First published in 1959, Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House has been hailed as a perfect work of unnerving terror. It is the story of four seekers who arrive at a notoriously unfriendly pile called Hill House: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of a “haunting”; Theodora, the lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a friendless, fragile young woman well acquainted with poltergeists; and Luke, the future heir of Hill House. At first, their stay seems destined to be merely a spooky encounter with inexplicable phenomena. But Hill House is gathering its powers—and soon it will choose one of them to make its own. 

 

 

Continue reading “The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson”

Posted in reading wrap-up

Stay Home Reading Rush Wrap-Up

This mini readathon is really a fun one until I get to read my last book. I was on track with reading one book per day, given that the book that I am reading is quite short and not more than 200 pages. But the last book on my TBR is my biggest downfall and even though I managed to finished 3 books, I am still disappointed with myself.

I have managed to complete 3 challenges by reading 3 books. So let’s get into this wrap-up and talk about the books that I have read.

 

Continue reading “Stay Home Reading Rush Wrap-Up”

Posted in Book Review

Summer Fling by Sarah Morgan

13329980

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌗🌑

Published: July 01, 2011

Publisher: Mills & Boon

Format: Paperback

Pages: 365

 

 


“We don’t all behave according to one rule book. We’re all different people, looking for different things. None of us is perfect.”

SYNOPSIS:

Have you heard? The place to be this summer is in love!
Life in the sleepy island of Glenmore is filled with tranquil lazy days. Bliss! But this summer the gossip mill is running overtime – love is most definitely in the air…

Poor Evanna has been infatuated with her boss forever – to him she’s just part of the furniture. Rumour has it this summer she’s decided to get noticed. No more sensible suits for her…she’s bringing out the stilettos!

Kyla can see Evanna is in love with her brother and if she had her way she’d knock their heads together. Oh well… Kyla has other, more pressing distractions – the new island doctor is gorgeous! Dr Ethan sticks out in the picture-perfect island like a v. handsome sore thumb.

Ripples are running through the tranquil waters of Glenmore – secrets, scandal and more than a little flirtation! It’s going to be a summer to remember!

 

 

Continue reading “Summer Fling by Sarah Morgan”

Posted in Book Review

Destroy Me & Fracture Me Novella Review

 

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her–and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance… including killing everyone Adam cares about.

 

 


Continue reading “Destroy Me & Fracture Me Novella Review”