Posted in Book Review

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Published: August 24, 2010

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 398

“It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart.”

-Finnick Odair


Synopsis:

My name is Katniss Everdeen.
Why am I not dead?
I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans—except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay—no matter what the personal cost.

Continue reading “Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins”
Posted in Book Review

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌖🌑

Publisher: Quirk Books

Published: April 04, 2017

Format: e-Book

Pages: 337

Synopsis:

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Continue reading “Geekerella by Ashley Poston”
Posted in Book Review

Across the Green Grass Fields by Seanan McGuire

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌗🌑

Publisher: Tordotcom

Published: January 12, 2021

Format: e-Book

Pages: 174

Synopsis:

A young girl discovers a portal to a land filled with centaurs and unicorns in Seanan McGuire’s Across the Green Grass Fields, a standalone tale in the Hugo and Nebula Award-wining Wayward Children series.

“Welcome to the Hooflands. We’re happy to have you, even if you being here means something’s coming.”

Regan loves, and is loved, though her school-friend situation has become complicated, of late.

When she suddenly finds herself thrust through a doorway that asks her to “Be Sure” before swallowing her whole, Regan must learn to live in a world filled with centaurs, kelpies, and other magical equines―a world that expects its human visitors to step up and be heroes.

But after embracing her time with the herd, Regan discovers that not all forms of heroism are equal, and not all quests are as they seem…

Continue reading “Across the Green Grass Fields by Seanan McGuire”
Posted in Book Review

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Published: September 17, 2011

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 418


“Have you asked yourself, do monsters make war, or does war make monsters?”

Synopsis:

Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Continue reading “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor”
Posted in Book Review

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

RATING: 🌕🌕🌑🌑🌑

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Published: May 30, 2017

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 380


Synopsis:

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family—and from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitating toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Continue reading “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon”
Posted in Book Review

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Published: March 28, 2017

Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 544


“But dreaming is like the garden. You can step out of prison and feel the sky around you. In a dream you can be anywhere. You can be free.”

Synopsis:

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

Welcome to Weep.

Continue reading “Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor”
Posted in Book Review

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Rating: 🌕🌕🌕🌗🌑

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Published: November 17, 2020

Format: e-Book

Pages: 449

Synopsis:

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. 

Continue reading “These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong”
Posted in Book Review

Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier

Rating: 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌑

Published: April 21, 2020

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Format: Audiobook

Pages: 352

Synopsis:

Overwhelmed by tragedy, a woman desperately tries to save her marriage in award-winning author Jennifer Hillier’s Little Secrets, a riveting novel of psychological suspense.

All it takes to unravel a life is one little secret…

Marin had the perfect life. Married to her college sweetheart, she owns a chain of upscale hair salons, and Derek runs his own company. They’re admired in their community and are a loving family—until their world falls apart the day their son Sebastian is taken.

A year later, Marin is a shadow of herself. The FBI search has gone cold. The publicity has faded. She and her husband rarely speak. She hires a P.I. to pick up where the police left off, but instead of finding Sebastian, she learns that Derek is having an affair with a younger woman. This discovery sparks Marin back to life. She’s lost her son; she’s not about to lose her husband, too. Kenzie is an enemy with a face, which means this is a problem Marin can fix.

Permanently.

Continue reading “Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier”
Posted in Book Review, Comic Review

Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba

RATING: 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌑

Published: September 05, 2017 (First published May 15, 2006)

Publisher: VIZ Media LLC

Format: Paperback

Pages: 2,400


Synopsis:

Light Yagami is an ace student with great prospects—and he’s bored out of his mind. But all that changes when he finds the Death Note, a notebook dropped by a rogue Shinigami death god. Any human whose name is written in the notebook dies, and now Light has vowed to use the power of the Death Note to rid the world of evil. But when criminals begin dropping dead, the authorities send the legendary detective L to track down the killer. With L hot on his heels, will Light lose sight of his noble goal…or his life? 

Continue reading “Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba”
Posted in Monthly Wrap-Up, reading wrap-up

January 2021 Wrap-Up & Book Haul

A new year, a new month, and a new start. I cannot believe that January went by so fast, and February is just as fast. Can you believe that it is already more than half of the month and I am just posting my wrap-up? Oh, well. What’s new?

The month of January is a good reading month for me. I managed to finally finished the books that I started back in December. Plus, I finally read Laini Taylor’s other books.😭 A good reading month, indeed.

Without further ado, let’s get into the books!

Continue reading “January 2021 Wrap-Up & Book Haul”