Book Review: Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

rbcover-1.jpeg

RATING: ๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•

Publisher: Amulet Books

Publication Date: October 1, 2013

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 299

 


“People like me don’t work towards perfection in an imperfect world. We celebrate imperfection.”

SYNOPSIS:

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as sheโ€™s known) decides to complete the dead girlโ€™s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissedโ€”a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophyโ€”particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asherโ€™s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriellโ€™s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

REVIEW:

I honestly thought that I wouldn’t like this book as much as I did. It was fast-paced and the story is very light even though it dealt with the topic of death (just a little), life, family & friend relationship and of course, love story!

I’m attached with Rebel, the same way other people would be attached to other characters. I like the character development of Rebel and the other characters. Unlike other books where only the main character’s development was shown, this book is different. Each one developed with the help of another. And I guess the reason why I like this book is that it does not revolve around the love story and how the love of her life can change her and affect her. She grows on her own. And for awhile it seems like the love of her life doesn’t matter because she needs to find herself without the help of the other.

Rebel is a sassy character, well for me she is. She is funny, and her motivation is striking. She is not the normal girl who thinks she can do everything and kicks everyone’s ass. She is trying and that’s a start. I really like her attitude and how she manages to cope up with her issues.

What I don’t like about the book is the unnecessary parts and scenes. I feel like it’s not needed and would not even ruin the whole plot. Like (sorry for the mini spoiler) when she dropped her shoes and a guy almost raped her. Yeah, that does not even make sense. She drops her shoes and then the guy picked it up and almost raped her and she escaped and then end of the chapter. And after that, it does not even make sense to the whole plot.

Still, I’m giving it 5 out of 5 stars based on my enjoyment and satisfaction with the plot and the characters. And yes I enjoyed it so much! You should totally check this out.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s